About Us

Non Progredi est Regredi
Not to be constantly going forward is to go backward

This Sorority is a non-profit fraternal corporation. Its purpose is to promote cultural education,
to foster personal development and good citizenship, to form a nation-wide fellowship, to attain
a broader outlook and enjoyment of contact with those of similar purposes and ideals.

Delta Theta Chi Sorority was originally organized in 1920 in Chicago. Six of the seven charter members are
known: Hope Barkley of Radcliff College, Cambridge, MA; Esther Cejnar of the University of Nebraska; Miriam
Brewer of Northwestern University in Evanston, IL; Edith McKay of the University of Montana; Myrtle Raymond
of the University of Nevada and Lela Scopes of the University of Chicago.

By 1930 the rapid growth of our Sorority warranted a national entity and the officers applied to the State of
Delaware, where most sororities and fraternities are incorporated, for a state charter granting national

To establish Delta Theta Chi as a true Sorority rather than the National Association of Delta Theta Chi, the
Delaware charter was dissolved and under a special act of Congress in 1937, we were granted a Certificate
of Incorporation. In 1938 the first meeting of the incorporators was held and the first National Executive
Council was elected.

When World War II came along, we lost many chapters. Other chapters were unable to secure jewelry and
other items from the National Office, and correspondence was not answered. Several members, including
Mary Anna Cone and Rose Richards of Indiana Beta Chapter offered their help. In 1953 there was a
reorganization. Oklahoma chapters called the first National Convention in Enid, OK and Rose Richards was
elected the first National President.

A new constitution was prepared by a committee and at the National Executive Council Meeting in 1954 the
proposal was adopted that the United States be divided into seven Provinces as originally planned. A Trustee
for each Province, the President, and Vice President would act as the National Executive Council (N.E.C.) and
would be given the responsibility of conducting the affairs of the Sorority. The National Executive
Secretary-Treasurer (N.E.S.T.) would be an ex-officio member of the Council and would be a paid employee.
She could be, but need not be, a member of the Sorority.

Today we have 407 Members in 32 Chapters. (June 2019)